Weird & Wonderful Wednesdays

One of the best things to write about is the food, drinks and snacks here in Japan, as there are just so many strange, er, interesting options…

Here are a few brands you might recognize, but I’m betting you’ve never seen these flavors before!

Consomme

#1 This “consomme” flavor is not one of my favorites – I found it a little too sweet with a funny aftertaste.

Rich butter and soy sauce

#2  Actually, this “butter & soy sauce” flavor was pretty tasty, not super shoyu taste but salty with a good smell and aftertaste.

Strange pizza

#3 This pizza flavor definitely was salty and tasted faintly of green peppers which are not high on my list of good flavors, but over all it wasn’t bad.

Cheese, uh, maybe camembert

#4 Most cheese flavored anything here in Japan is sweet, too sweet to make me think of cheese. Not really salty at all, but at least they smelled like cheese.

beef bbq or something to that effect

#5 I’ve never seen this flavor before so I’m guessing that it has something to do with summer and bbqing since all I can tell on the picture is grilling meat and veggies… it had a nice salty, meaty taste and was best when it was mixed with the cheese ones to even out both the flavors.

3 thoughts on “Weird & Wonderful Wednesdays

    1. Oh yah, I’ve seen those but haven’t tried the tomato ones yet – just the chili, wasabi and plain ones. Remind me to bring some back at Christmas for you!

Leave a comment